Pondicherry Election Result 2016

Pondicherry Election Result 2016


Parliamentary Constituencies 1
Assembly Constituencies 30
Ruling Party All India N.R. Congress
Opposition Party INC
Chief Minister N. Rangaswamy
Governor A. K. Singh
Chief Electoral Officer Dr. V. Candavelou, I.A.S.
CEO Address The Chief Electoral Officer, Villianur Road, Reddiarpalayam, Puducherry 605010


Puducherry Election Date 2016

The date for the 2016 assembly elections has been announced by the Election Commission. All the 30 assembly constituencies will go to polls on a single day, which is 16 May. The votes will be counted on 19 May.

Poll Event Dates (All 30 ACs)
Date of Notification Apr 22, 2016
Last Date for filing Nominations Apr 29, 2016
Date for scrutiny of nominations Apr 30, 2016
Last date for withdrawal of candidatures May 2, 2016
Date of poll May 16, 2016
Date of counting May 19, 2016
Date before which the election shall be completed May 21, 2016


Elections History of Puducherry

  • INC won the 1967 General Elections by bagging the only seat in Puducherry.
  • In 1971, INC won the Lok Sabha Elections by winning the only seat available.
  • The General Elections of 1977 was won by AIADMK.
  • In 1980, the General Elections were won by INC.
  • The 1984 Lok Sabha Elections were won by INC once again.
  • The 1989 General Elections in Puducherry were won by INC for a third consecutive term.
  • In 1991, the Lok Sabha Elections were won by INC who bagged the only available seat in Puducherry.
  • INC once again bagged the only seat available in the 1996 Lok Sabha Elections.
  • In 1998, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) broke INC’s monopoly and won the sole available seat in the General Elections.
  • INC once again came into power by winning the 1999 General Elections.
  • In 2004, the Lok Sabha Elections were won by the Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK).
  • The 2009 General Elections, INC won the sole seat in Puducherry.